C is for Coleslaw

 

 

Coleslaw

½ C Mayonnaise                                             ½ t salt

1/3 C granulated sugar                                     ¼ t freshly ground pepper

¼ C milk                                                         8 C finely chopped cabbage (1 head)

¼ C buttermilk                                                ¼ C shredded carrot (1 med)

2 ½ T lemon juice                                            2 T minced onion

1 ½ T white vinegar

Chop cabbage and carrots very finely.

Combine the mayonnaise, sugar, milk, buttermilk, lemon juice, vinegar, salt and pepper in a large bowl and beat until smooth.

Add the cabbage, carrots, and onion and mix well. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

***

This coleslaw is lip-smacking good! You may as well get on out to the kitchen now and start shredding. I know you want some now. After you’ve had your fill come on back and leave a comment to tell me how you like this interesting recipe. Sometimes I like to pile some coleslaw onto my hotdogs! Messy as hell to eat, but it sure is good!

For a ‘different’ take, make up a batch of Ranch salad dressing and use it in place of the  mayonnaise. I really like it, and make it that way about half the time.

Just a quick little historical note; coleslaw is originally an Irish dish. They used to make it at the end of the month, using leftover veggies and cream (got that little tidbit from Wikipedia).

16 thoughts on “C is for Coleslaw

    • Nothing better than coleslaw on pulled pork BBQ! It’s nearly three years since I had pork and BBQ is what I miss most! Be sure to tell me how it turns out for you. It’s easy, peasy!

  1. I make heaps of coleslaw, goes so well with a bbq and takes bugger all time to prepare, AND you can chuck in anything. I use home made mayonnaise made with condensed milk, mustard powder and vinegar and sometimes add some sour cream or coconut milk to make it smoother and change the flavour a little. Love coleslaw.

    • I’m with you, Linda, I make it several times a month. I love how forgiving it is. As you say, you can chuck so many different things to change the flavor/character and it’s always good. Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you’ll come back again.

  2. I love coleslaw, though I’ve been trying to find a good version of a kind I used to buy in Montreal from a place called Moishe’s. Sadly, they don’t sell it in the U.S. It’s a really tangy vinegary coleslaw that’s also creamy, so I’m not quite sure about the ratios of vinegar to mayo, but maybe the buttermilk is what I’ve been missing. I’ll have to give it a shot!

    • For more tang, you may have to up the vinegar a bit more, even with the buttermilk. You might also try using red wine vinegar. I sometimes use up to 4 T in mine. Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

  3. I love coleslaw, though I’ve been trying to find a good version of a kind I used to buy in Montreal from a place called Moishe’s. Sadly, they don’t sell it in the U.S. It’s a really tangy vinegary coleslaw that’s also creamy, so I’m not quite sure about the ratios of vinegar to mayo, but maybe the buttermilk is what I’ve been missing. I’ll have to give it a shot!

  4. Pingback: Shredded « Solmazhafezi Creativity

  5. Pingback: Recipe and Cooking Techniques: Coleslaw with Boiled Dressing « Planting The Seeds

  6. Pingback: Purple Cabbage Salad | recipe 2 recipe

  7. Pingback: Purple Cabbage Salad « jittery cook

Leave a comment