‘B’ is for Banana Pudding!

B


            I had a hard time with this one. Should I be ‘correct’ and post it here, under ‘B’ or should I use our Southern terminology and post it under ‘N’ for ‘Nanner Puddin’? Either way, you can’t miss with this recipe!

Banana Pudding

1 C sugar                                                         1 T butter

3 T flour                                                          1 t vanilla

Pinch of salt                                                    Whole vanilla wafers

2 C milk                                                          4-5 bananas, sliced

2 eggs, beaten

In heavy saucepan combine sugar, flour and salt. Gradually stir in milk, maintaining a smooth texture. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until thick. Pour half the hot mixture slowly into beaten eggs; return all to saucepan. Cook over slow heat, stirring constantly. After the pudding has thickened, remove it from the heat and add butter and vanilla. Cool. Then layer with wafers and bananas. Sprinkle crumbs over top and refrigerate.

Banana Pudding

 Bonus Recipe – Vanilla Wafers

1 C sugar                                                         1 1/3 C flour

½ C butter, melted                                          1 t baking powder

1 T vanilla                                                       ¼ t salt

1 egg

In a bowl, mix the butter and sugar and add the egg and vanilla. When it’s well mixed, add the rest of the ingredients to form cookie dough. Bake on an ungreased baking sheet at 175°C (350°F) for 5-8 minutes.

***

I know. I know… you can buy vanilla wafers in a box at the supermarket to use in this recipe. But, believe me; those things don’t come within a country mile of these wafers. I can’t imagine ever using those things again! Go ahead, give it a try. You know you want to. I recommend making extra wafers so you can munch a few as you’re creating your banana masterpiece. You’ll never use those store-bought horrors again! Leave comments here about the recipe!

14 thoughts on “‘B’ is for Banana Pudding!

  1. Mmmm! Yum! But I start my diet today, Nutrisystem. Oh, how tempting, but no, not for me. My mom left me the recipe she had where the vanilla custard is made from scratch, and I see yours is too. How awesome is that?! I’m just about 7 names above you. Great to meet you. I’m looking forward to playing A to Z Challenge for the first time.

    • Welcome Kathy! This is my first A to Z Challenge and I’m enjoying it immensely. I’m especially loving all the lovely blogs I’m discovering. Good luck on your diet. Save this recipe for a reward when you’ve reached your goal!

  2. Ohhhhhh I can defiantly think of something to do with this Nanner Puddin recipe… it does involve eating but sooooooooo not in the way anyone above is thinking!

    XD

    Might have to add it in somewhere….

    TeeHee!

    • I do love the way you think! I think when my Companion gets home, I’ll have Nanner Puddin’ waiting… Perhaps I’ll even add a cherry the way your character did!

    • Welcome Natalie! Sorry to hear you’re allergic to bananas! Gawd, I can’t even begin to imagine that. I once decided to do something a bit different and used pineapple rather than bananas and it came out just beautifully! I drained pineapple slices, cut them into manageable pieces and distributed them the same as if I were using bananas. Haven’t done that in quite some time. I bet not many days will pass before I do it again…

      Thanks for stopping by, and come again soon!

    • Just between Thee and me, the first time I made the wafers, I had to make two batches. We ended up devouring the entire batch before starting on the pudding! Make a few extra when you do it!

  3. I love bananas and banana pudding. My friend makes it without bananas too but I couldn’t imagine it without them. Now, thanks to your post I have to be on the lookout for some banana pudding… thanks! LOL!

Leave a Reply

