T is for Tantalizing, Tasty, Thrilling Tuscani Pasta

Tuscani Pasta

Tuscany cuisine is noted for its simplicity. Bread, cheese, legumes, vegetables, mushrooms and fresh fruits are central ingredients. The regional olive oil is made up of Moraiolo, Leccino, and Frantoiano olives. This pasta dish, recently bastardized by Pizza Hut, is easy to prepare, hearty and satisfying.

Tuscani Pasta

 226 g (8 oz) rotini noodles                                          170 g (6 oz) mozzarella (aside for

layering)

For Alfredo Sauce:

1 T butter                                                                    2 C milk

226 g (8 oz) cream cheese                                       170 g (6 oz) mozzarella

2 cloves garlic                                                             2 T parmesan

1/8 t pepper                                                                  1-2 C cooked, cubed chicken breast

Topping:

1 fresh bread slice, processed to crumbs                     sprinkle of garlic salt

1 t butter

Preheat the oven to 190°C (375°F). Spray a 20 x 20 cm (8 x 8”) or 22 x 22 cm (9 x 9”) pan with cooking spray.

Cook the pasta per package directions.

To make the Alfredo Sauce, melt butter in a saucepan over medium low heat. Stir in the cream cheese and stir until it is creamy and smooth, then add the garlic and pepper. Stir in the milk and stir again to a creamy consistency. Slowly, add the mozzarella and stir until it is melted and sprinkle in the Parmesan and stir in the chicken.

To make the topping, melt butter in a skillet and blend in the bread crumbs. Stir until mildly coated. Sprinkle with garlic salt.

Spread one-third of the chicken mixture into the casserole and top with the rotini. Sprinkle a third of the reserved mozzarella and some Parmesan. Repeat layer. Spread the last of the chicken mixture on top, sprinkle with the remaining mozzarella, sprinkle with Parmesan and top with the buttered bread crumbs. Bake for about 20-30 minutes.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

As I wandered through a few new blogs this morning I found Michelle Jones and the Family Tales. She had me at her bio: “I love sipping smoothies, and kissing my husband (but not simultaneously). I’ve been too lazy my whole life to admit how lazy I am. It takes a lot of effort and motivation just for me to push the shift key and capitalize.” You’ll like her interesting views and the way she writes!

Remember the Ohio Players? Rick James? Billy PrestonWe Need The Funk remembers them, too, and a whole lot more. Sign up for their funk journey today!

Kodilynn Calhoun gives us the Long and Short of It at her blog. If you like paranormal romance stories, her place is THE place to be! Her latest release, Spellbound, sounds um, well… spellbinding… (sorry, just couldn’t help myself).

2 thoughts on “T is for Tantalizing, Tasty, Thrilling Tuscani Pasta

  1. Oh, man! You’re killin’ me! Here I sit, waiting to go to my daughter’s house for lunch, (they don’t eat until 1 p.m. on Sundays) I have already been to church and Sunday School and gotten home. They don’t get out until noon and then she helps people in their church library and doesn’t get home until way after noon (drive takes about 15 minutes). I’m near about hungry enuf to eat the paper off my walls, but I reckon maybe if I keep busy visiting other A to Z bloggers, I can maybe keep my mind off food. Then I come to your yummy looking picture of pasta…mm mm mm!
    Nice to meetcha! Best regards to you. Ruby aka Grammy

    • Bless your heart, Ruby! You may have to start eating an extra big breakfast on the Sundays you go to her house for lunch! My poor cat, Umm Khalil is looking at me like I’ve got three heads because I burst into laughter when I got the visual of you grabbing bits of paper and shoving them into your mouth. You probably need to have a bite or two of something before you read my post for today… It’s a hum dinger!

      As always, I appreciate you stopping by. You come on back to see me, you hear?

Leave a Reply

