S is for Scintillating, Special, Satisfying Sweet Potato Mousseline

Sweet Potato Mousseline

 4 medium sweet potatoes                                           1 egg, well beaten

½ t grated nutmeg                                                       ¼ C cream

Dash of ground cloves                                                1 T grated orange rind

¾ t salt                                                                        ½ t grated lemon rind

¼ C sugar                                                                    2 T light brown sugar

1 T butter

Cook unpeeled sweet potatoes in boiling water to cover for about 20-30 minutes, until they are tender. Slip off the skins and mash until smooth. Add the butter and remainder of ingredients except the brown sugar and beat until fluffy.

Turn the mixture into a buttered casserole. Melt 1 T butter and brush on top. Sprinkle with brown sugar and bake at 230°C (450°F) for 35 minutes, or until browned.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

There must be a brazillion ways to prepare sweet taters; all of them good! I only recently discovered this recipe and was instantly mad about it. I haven’t been able to learn the history of this deliciously tempting dish, but I’m willing to bet it has roots in New Orleans. Any readers know its history? Tell me a tale!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

As I made my morning rounds of blogs from the A to Z Challenge sign-up list I found a real jewel! Shay is sarcastic as hell, and who doesn’t like sarcasm? Seriously, get yourself over to her blog, Seriously – WTH? and enjoy some truly great posts. I’ve already signed up to follow her; I don’t want to miss a single sarcastic word!

K D Storm is living a Coffee Driven & Adventure Bound Life and her blog takes you along on her journey to becoming a published writer. Pour yourself another cuppa and head over to her blog. I’m sure you’ll like it so much you’ll want to follow her, as I’m doing!

Whilst you surf the World Wide Web, make a stop at the A to Z Challenge webpage and look over the list of 1,723 bloggers who are in this mad daily posting challenge. Check a few of them out, and since you are here at The Left Wright Brain, click on that ‘Follow’ button so you know each and every time I make a post. Go on, take a chance. Sooner or later I’m bound to say something you’ll like!

4 thoughts on “S is for Scintillating, Special, Satisfying Sweet Potato Mousseline

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Francene!

      It is strictly up to your taste as to when you eat this dish. I know some who will save it for the dessert course. Personally, I like the juxtaposition of sweet and savory, so I have it as a side to the main dish. Come back to see me sometime; I’ll definitely be over to your place at morning!

      • I first had sweet potato mousseline as a side dish at a Thanksgiving dinner. The hostess said she got the recipe from the New York Times International cookbook. Interestingly, the hostess, Janet Yellen. is soon to be sworn in as the next director of the Federal Reserve. I don’t know if there is any cause and effect relationship here, but qui sait?

Leave a Reply

