Q is for Quail with Figs

Quail With Figs

Quail with Figs

4 T butter                                                                     ½ t salt

4 ripe, medium-sized figs, chopped                                ¼ t ground black pepper

1 clove garlic, chopped                                                 ¼ C Madeira or tawny port wine

4 quail, deboned except for legs and wings,                   Chopped parsley

butterflied

Heat the butter in a skillet and sauté the garlic and figs for about one minute. Season the quails with salt and pepper and add them to the figs and butter and cook over medium-high heat for about 3 minutes on each side.

Remove the quail and keep it warm on a serving plate. Add the wine to the skillet and bring to the boil. Drizzle the sauce over the quail and garnish with fresh chopped parsley. Season to taste.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Chef Hubert Sandot, a native of Martinique, cooks with very little in the way of dairy products. The tastes in his foods tend to be very elemental and light. His recipe for quail, given here is a perfect example of that. It cooks very quickly. When figs are not in season, apples, raisins, or both work very well as substitutions.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Today’s A to Z Challenge post was brought to you by the letter ‘Q’. I think Q is one of the most fun and interesting letters of the English alphabet. I just can’t wait to see what our fellow travelers post today! Visit a few and see what you can find. I guarantee it won’t be dull! I was visiting blogs this morning and revisited Ash N Finn‘s place. He’s presented a really delicious bit of flash fiction this morning. Go read it! While you’re there, browse his blog for more excellent reading. I also discovered James R Tate’s blog, Tate’s Other Side. I really like the way he writes! Christopher C Starr is doing a wonderful series in Celebration of Wickedness at his blog, Crooked Letterz. If you like villains, check him out. I swear it’s his fault I’m late posting this blog… I just couldn’t stop reading!

8 thoughts on “Q is for Quail with Figs

  1. Oh my, this is mouthwatering! Thanks so much for sharing and also for your very kind endorsement of my place, this is so very encouraging.

      • No, thank you! Very appreciated here. I’ll continue stopping by for sure. Oh, and I adore good food. Not too brilliant a cook myself to be honest although I do try. Am just being told that Ash’s 19th April surprise deluxe salad was rather nice (it was my turn to resource dinner tonight). Also not sure how easy it ease to get one’s hands on quails here. Think last time I had quail was some years ago in Paris!

  2. Pingback: Apples, Figs, Grapes or Pomegranates « Dispensable Thoughts

Leave a Reply

